Running, Running, Running!

Standard

Running!! Who in their right mind would have EVER thought I would be running…for fun? Yeah, its an insane concept. I never thought so either. I mean WHY would anyone choose to run when they don’t have to?

Because its an awesome feeling! I love it. I found a trail here in town that is so beautiful. It’s full of beautiful big trees, a small stream, and some very friendly people. I feel like I can just run and enjoy what’s around me. Kennedy loves to go with me, I think being outside calms her. I can’t forget Ember either! She loves to go running with us because what black lab doesn’t want to burn some energy?

But seriously, I recommend running to keep your sanity! It’s a huge stress reliever. I am NOT fast, not even a little but I do it. I do it to feel better about myself. To feel calm. But I also do it because my bucket list includes me running a marathon and eventually, a 100 mile race. Yes, you read that correctly..a 100 mile race.

I started wanting to run a marathon a while ago. It would feel amazing to finish that because it is a huge test of ability and mental state. I want to be tested and especially now being a stay at home mom during the day, my mind is filled with baby talk and mindless things. I want to feel that accomplishment to say, I did it!

Now I have been training for a 5k because we all have to start somewhere! I have been using an app on my Andriod called C25K or Couch to 5k. It rocks! You don’t have to have an Android or iPhone, you can upload it on your iPod and off you go! It’s pretty helpful since it starts you off pretty slow and eventually you end with a 30 minute long run in week 9. It’s 9 weeks training with running every other day. I like it a lot! It prompts you over your music to run or walk, it tells you when you are halfway done and when you have 2 minutes left(which are the longest two minutes of your life!). If you want to take up running, please do it slowly so you don’t hurt yourself.

But if any of you Colorado girls wants to run a 5k, I’m running in the Dirty Girl Mud Run and I couldn’t be more excited! It’s an obstacle course 5k run. Hey go big or go home right?! It is a girls only run with a mud crawl at the end! It raises money for breast cancer and you get some pretty cool stuff! Check them out on Facebook! They have pictures from the WI run this past weekend!! Or follow them on Twitter!

I’ll post pictures after I complete my run on September 24th,2011 in Calhan,CO!!

Happy running!

Leave a Reply

