Nap Restarting

Standard

I know you read the title and you were confused…nap restarting? What in the heck is that? Well its my name for what Kennedy does to me every couple of weeks. We have to restart her love to nap alone. OK I probably just confused you…let me back track a little. Kennedy does not like to be rocked, held, cuddled, etc. She is a lone ranger when it comes to going to sleep. She always has been (well minus the first month of her life when mommy was so tired that Kennedy slept on my chest a lot in the middle of the night..opps?) Anyway, every few weeks Kennedy needs a little help loving her naps by herself again. What she does is she gets SO over tired I have to basically take a nap with her because she refuses to sleep in her crib. She is already a tough kid to lay down for a nap…she fights tooth and nail to not have to sleep in the middle of the day. She is odd because at night, she is out like a light. She goes to sleep with little issue.

 

Well guess what today was? Nap restarting day!

 

This takes about 45-1 hour to complete with her. I have to get her binkie and her blanket and go into Mommy and Daddy’s bed and fight her to sleep. I have to sing “You are my sunshine” and “twinkle twinkle little star” 20x each, tickle her face, and force her to keep her blanket near her somewhere because she likes to hold it when she sleeps. This is a huge ordeal. I can get her relaxed and any slightest move from the dog or the cat, shes wide awake again. Oh and all this is happening usually while she is screaming her head off and pulling her binkie out of her mouth every 2 seconds. Well today was slightly different, she wasn’t screaming but I got her very relaxed but she wasn’t going to sleep. I thought maybe I read the signals wrong (besides the fact she has only slept an hour today) so I pulled the whole “fake sleeping mommy” trick. I laid there with my eyes almost shut ( I had to watch her) and waited. She tossed and turned, tried to play with my lip ring, and then finally fell asleep…only after I did! I sometimes nap with her but usually I get out of there ASAP. She kicks….really hard. But I fell asleep. I woke up with drool on my hand. Yeah lovely picture huh? I was “fake sleeping” but really did fall asleep.

 

 

 

I am such an amateur.

One response »

  1. Hey girl, Glad you took a much needed break, but it’s nice to see you back blogging again.

    I think your sleeping plan worked too well–how nice you BOTH got a nap. I’ve never been good with getting my kids to be good sleepers. Just last week my youngest started fighting me at bedtime. He cried one night and I got him out and now he’s decided to pull that little crying trick every night! Thankfully, he doesn’t hold out too long. 🙂

Leave a Reply

