My Background

Standard

OK since this has been brought up twice in one day in two different occasion, I want to talk about it. I have a story…well I know we all do and mine happens to be super long and complicated. I am not going into large detail as some things don’t need to be on my blog for all the universe to see but I think I am ready to share a little background.

I was raised by my paternal grandparents. That is mom and dad. When I reference my mom, she is actually my grandma and when I talk about my dad, it is my grandfather. I believe mom and dad are terms for the people who raise you, maybe not so much the people who had a part in conception. I was never legally adopted but my mom did get legal guardianship. I was taken from my birth place in Killeen, Texas to Canisteo, NY when I was a mere 8 days old and this is where I would grow up.

Ok let’s skip all the growing up stuff because it really isn’t relevant to why I am writing this. So my real mom, Janice, died in 2000(I was 12). I didn’t know her. I knew she existed because I was aware of my situation but I have never had a conversation with her. So when I turned 18 (2006), I received money from her death. (PS-never give large amounts of money to an irresponsible 18-year-old child) I also received papers from the court, which I found out I have two half brothers and another relative of hers (her cousin who handled the court proceedings). I have never tried to contact my brothers because they are younger and at the time, still underage. They are now 20 and 18.

I know nothing about my mother’s side of the family. I don’t know medical history. I don’t know if my grandparents are even alive or even a name. I know nothing. I felt the urge to know and I have wanted to know for some time but never did anything about it. Well tonight I reached out to my twitter followers for some advice. Obviously Facebook is easy to “stalk” someone if you know their names. Well I decided to look them up…found them! Ok now what? Well I asked for advice.

Thanks to Liz and Laura, they told me go for it…so I did! I sent a Facebook message to both of them. I feel kind of lame for sending a message over Facebook but really how else can I contact them? If they don’t contact me back, that is ok too. They don’t have to want to talk to me or even tell me anything. I hope they do (maybe someday), I would like to know my mother’s side. Well lets see if their backfires or works…

 

 

 

 

In a side note: I found my wedding dress this weekend! but that’s for another post 😉

3 responses »

  1. I say way to go for being brave enough to make the first move. By reaching out you have demonstrated that you are an open loving person. I found that Family became way more significant to me once I became a parent.
    Facebook can be a fickle place and like many of my family including me I don’t look at Facebook too often. My only thought is please don’t let Facebook be your only communication channel if you don’t hear back from them.

Leave a Reply

